Undergraduate Scholarships

Clariant Chancellor’s Scholarship in Chemistry

GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholarship

J. J. Hendley Chemistry Student Scholarship

Chemistry Prizes and Awards

The UNC Charlotte Department of Chemistry offers several awards intended to recognize academic achievement in specific courses and also achievements in undergraduate research.

James Hovick Memorial Award

The James Hovick Award commemorates a beloved chemistry professor who passed away in 2008. The award is presented at the end of the Spring semester to a CHEM 1252 student that has distinguished himself or herself by maintaining a high average in the CHEM 1251 and CHEM 1252 courses, and also by their enthusiasm for learning General chemistry and participation in the classroom and outside the classroom with activities such as peer tutoring. The awardee receives a $300 cash prize and is recognized at the annual Chemistry Awards reception. The awardee’s name is inscribed on a commemorative plaque located on the second floor of the Burson building.

Gary Howard Award in Analytical Chemistry

This award honors the late Prof. Gary Howard and is presented to the student with the highest overall average in the CHEM 3111 Analytical Chemistry course during an academic year. The awardee is chosen by the Fall and Spring semester instructors and presented at the annual Chemistry Awards reception in May. The typical cash award is $250

Louis Daignault Award

The Louis Daignault Award was established by the family of Dr. Louis Daignault to enable deserving students to travel to scientific conferences to present their work. Awardees are honored at the Chemistry Awards reception in May.

UNC Charlotte Undergraduate Award in Biochemistry

This recently established award is intended to recognize a student for academic excellence in Biochemistry coursework, achievement in undergraduate research, or a combination of both.

ACS Undergraduate Awards

The ACS Undergraduate Awards are sponsored by the American Chemical Society Divisions of Organic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, and Physical Chemistry. The awardees are chosen by the faculty members of these disciplines and they receive a certificate, recognition on division websites, and student memberships in ACS.